Honeymoon ~ Martha’s Vineyard, Massachusetts

17.-21.9.2007

I have finally pushed myself to write about my honeymoon.

We took two weeks. Because I didn’t have a green card we were traveling in the USA. First week we spent on Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard.

17.-21.9.2007 030

Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard are part of state Massachusetts where we live. Cape Code is a peninsula shaped as a curve and is well known for their sand dunes and beaches  which brings a lot of tourist during the summer. We have stayed in West Yarmouth just for a day and then we took a ferry from Hyannis to Martha’s.

                                                        
Map image

 

Martha’s Vineyard is an island south of Cape Cod. It Is mostly known as an escape island for celebrities and politicians and also for shooting the movie Jaws.

Ferry dropped us at Oak Bluffs where we took taxi to get us to Thorncroft Inn in Vineyard Haven. We stayed for three days mostly just walking around Haven and enjoying ourselves and the Inn.  Second day we went to explore an island on bicycles. A lot of people were telling me that Martha’s is a very beautiful island and I am going to love it! I didn’t believe them. What could be so special on an Island near MA. It will look similar as Cape Cod. But as I got there I had to change my mind and I fell in love with the island also. It just makes you feel different. The small towns with their picturesque houses and friendly people, with all the small shops and restaurants ,even the weather make you feel like you are somewhere else far far away.

17.-21.9.2007 235

17.-21.9.2007 252

The last night we ate at Le Grenier which was definitely one of our best stops on Martha’s! Not only that the food was fantastic but also the staff was excellent including the chef and owner Jean Dupon. Jean would come to every table and greet all new costumers. When I didn’t understand the name of the food he would describe it well even he would bring a piece of vegetable at the table. :) He also wrote me a recipe for his Portabelo mushroom bisque which I loved it very much! He was such a charm chef with his French accent. We were talking a lot about Europe as I am from Czech Republic.

So our first part of the honeymoon was excellent!

More photos in my album CAPE CODE & MARTHA’S VINEYARD.

We returned home to wash clothes and get ready for part two: Yellowstone Park.


6 comments

  1. I looked at your pictures from the honeymoon and it seems like you guys had a great time! Congratulations to the two of you!
    By the way, your ring is just GORGEOUS! Love it!

  2. Ajoy jana:) I stopped by to check if you are still alive, ahhahahhaha….
    I’ve been to marta’s vineyard once, with Pat. We hired a motocycle and went around the towns.
    I’m looking forward to read what you have to say about the second part of your honeymoon.
    xoxoxoox 


Leave a comment